Hong Kong Beyond Hong Kong Symposium

8–17 June 2021

YCAR is pleased to present Hong Kong Beyond Hong Kong Symposium, a series of three panels inquiring how Hong Kong as a “distinct society” culturally, politically and economically can sustain moving forward within geographical Hong Kong and beyond.

This symposium is held in conjunction with the fourth Bernard H. K. Luk Memorial Lecture in Hong Kong Studies at York University.


*For details on each event, please click on the specific title below to jump to its individual event page.


 

Panel 1: Resistance and Contention: Identities, Connections and Power

Thursday, 10 June 2021 | 20:00 to 22:00 EDT and Friday, 11 June 2021 | 08:00 to 10:00 HKT
Register at: https://yorku.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_hpGkXPg_T3SPaWTca7Kgsg
*Please register by 8 June 2021*

Panel 2: Studying Hong Kong: The National Security Law and Beyond Roundtable Conversation

Tuesday, 15 June 2021 | 20:00 to 22:00 EDT and Wednesday, 16 June 2021 | 08:00 to 10:00 HKT
Register at: https://yorku.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_4ilwyGslS6GvmExXBETXwA
*Please register by 13 June 2021*

Panel 3: Hong Kong-Canada Relationships

Thursday, 17 June 2021 | 14:00 to 16:00 EDT and 11:00 to 13:00 PDT
Register at: https://yorku.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_MrB3WVYAQ3-759BHqGDuFw
*Please register by 15 June 2021*


For more information: ycar@yorku.ca.